Governors at Oldfield Primary

They are the strategic leaders of our schools and have a vital role to play in making sure every child gets the best possible education. For maintained schools this is reflected in the law, which states that the purpose of maintained school governing bodies is to ‘conduct the school with a view to promoting high standards of educational achievement at the school’.

In all types of schools, governing bodies should have a strong focus on three core strategic functions:

a. Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;

b. Holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff; and

c. Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.


Members of the Governing Body

Chair of Governors Mr Simon Barrowcliff

Vice Chair Mr Andy Evans

Co-Opted Governor  Mr Paul Smith

Co-Opted Governor Mrs Louise Baillie

Parent Governor Mr Graham Rustom

Community Mrs Heather Swainston

Parent Governor Mr Daryn Simon

Staff Mrs Nikki Bailey

Clerk Mrs Amanda Broome

Governor responsibilities

Looked After Children – Mr Smith

Safeguarding – Mrs Baillie

SEND – Mr Smith

Pupil Premium – Mr Smith

Sports Premium – Mr Barrowcliff

You may not realise what the Governing Body does: As a group of volunteers from various backgrounds they are responsible for the close monitoring of the school. They work with the Head and the staff to shape the direction for the school – financial, curriculum and staffing. They further monitor the steps that are taken – and the effectiveness of any subsequent actions.

The Governing Body must contain the following: Individuals appointed by the Local Authority (CWAC); individuals invited by the Body from the Community; Parents voted for in an election; volunteers from school Staff.

The majority of Oldfield Governors also have children at the school. This gives an excellent representation throughout the year groups.

Chair of Governors – Mr Simon Barrowcliff can be contacted through the school.

Files to Download

Contact the School

Oldfield Primary School

Green Lane
Vicars Cross

Main Contact: Headteacher Mr Alan Brown or Bursar Mrs Louise McComb

Tel: 01244 981772

SEN Contact: Mrs Nikki Bailey

SEN Email: